Skip to content

july bucket : in review

August 1, 2011

If you are sensitive to failure you may want to avert your eyes. The following recap may be too graphic for some readers. Here’s the July Bucket in review:

+ write down a meaningful verse from each morning’s bible reading to keep close throughout the day

I’d say this say happened about 85% of the time, which isn’t too shabby for an every day goal!

+ eat nectarines, corn on the cob, pulled pork, and soft serve twists with rainbow sprinkles

Oh, so done. Is anyone surprised that the one with food was the one I managed to complete perfectly? Enjoy the fleeting moment of success because it’s about to come to a screeching halt.

+ read this month’s whole living, martha stewart living, food network, food & wine, and everyday food (potentially on lunch breaks at work)

Not even close. I read one article in Whole Living.

+ take 15 – 20 new pictures that are just for the personal enjoyment of photography

I took the pictures…but they’re still waiting in a long line to be edited. See you in September, personal enjoyment of photography!

+ work out 4 days a week; go to yoga once a week

If 4 days a week means 2 days a week and once a week means once a month, then yes.

+ blog!

This one was spotty at best.

+ keep up with google reader (possibly while winding down at night before bed)

Google Reader has officially stopped counting how many unread items I have now that it’s over 1,000. I think we can safely mark this one down as a failure.

+ go somewhere (anywhere!) outside of Rochester for a one day vacation

I’m trying to remember what dreamworld I was living in when I thought this was a realistic goal.

+ make a summer dessert and invite friends over to share it

Nope….there’s been no lovin’ coming out of my oven lately.

+ skype with my parents once a week

This actually might have happened.

+ serve other people – whether that means volunteering or just doing random acts of kindness – and keep a healthy perspective on things that actually matter

Not as often as I’d like.

+ spend carefree time in the sunshine, enjoying summer, once a week

I think I was a goner at “carefree.”

Man, this is depressing. Monday is off to a sad start…and my lunch break is over far too quickly! Stay tuned for August’s Bucket once I figure out what I’m going to do and when I’ll have time to do it! (You may be staying tuned until 2012.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

