Skip to content

weekend wonder : thurviving

July 16, 2011

From time to time I can let my imagination get the best of me. Not as in daydreaming for hours on end about future decorating and recipe ideas (although…), but more of a “fast forward to the worst possible extreme” way. Like when I contemplated my new working schedule, and I figured I would never again see the light of day. When would I ever sit outside and eat a meal (my favorite summer activity)?! When would I have time for magazines or Google Reader (my favorite anytime activity)?! When would I run or bike or walk?! When would I BLOG? When would I ever see anyone I know ever again?! I’ll tell you when: NEVER.

As always, the overreacting was far worse than the actual circumstances. Over the past week I actually did see the light of day, and more than once! I sat outside and ate dinner on an unbelievably gorgeous day and stayed planted on the patio for hours afterward enjoying the unbelievably gorgeous night. I caught up on magazines and Google Reader during lunch breaks. I ran at the gym while watching Sports Center (two birds = one stone), biked around my new neighborhood (and mapped out the exact locations of all 87 of my favorite downtown restaurants), and walked 500 miles (almost true, but spend a day working retail in a stock room and you’ll agree on the distance). I only missed one day of blogging (sorry, Friday). I saw people I love (hi, Ris! thanks for coming to visit, Buzz!) and realized that new friendships with new coworkers are important and enjoyable too.

This is not to say that the week went off without a hitch. I also did things like change complete outfits while driving from one job to the next because time did not allow for formal changing procedures (clarity in decision making has not been a strong suit this week). One morning when I didn’t have a glass for my smoothie or time to find one I poured my breakfast into a recently emptied peanut butter jar and drank out of that on the way to work (and wished I had a sign to tape to the window that read “I am not actually drinking peanut butter”). It’s also possible that my coffee consumption has increased exponentially in the past 7 days.

BUT…it was a good week! I (re)learned that I always find time for the things that are most important to me. The rest falls to the wayside. In that respect working 80 hours a week is a great filter: it separates the essentials from the fluff by necessity.

At this point, I would characterize my state of existence as thurviving. I’m not quite thriving in this new schedule yet but I’m not barely surviving, either. I’m hoping that once I move (TODAY!), get comfortable with my new job(s) and schedule(s), and figure out how this puzzle goes together I’ll move right on to thriving. I really think it’s possible.

Next week, I’ll be sharing some helpful hints that provided some aid for me through the first week of insanity. (I’ll also probably tell you about my new apartment 87,000 times. Just so we’re clear.) But for now, I’m going to go enjoy moving, and you should all go enjoy whatever activities your weekends hold! Have FUN, everyone!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2011 5:15 pm

    Why am I never around for when you end up drinking out of a peanut butter jar?
    YES, YES, YES to hearing about the apartment millions of times, and way to go on thriving and surviving woman! :)

Trackbacks

  1. raising a beige flag « beka.g.photography.
  2. beka stays faithful : reflecting on life post-roadtrip « beka stays

Leave a Reply

