Skip to content

a good start

June 28, 2011

I love mornings. I don’t spring out of bed with a bounce in my step and a song in my heart ala Snow White, but once I’m up and moving I fully enjoy early sunshine and breakfast and quiet time spent with God and the promise of a new day. And breakfast.

Yesterday morning was my ideal start to a Monday. It included the following:

  • Enough sleep to wake up at a timely hour and not feel like death warmed over.
  • A challenging but efficient workout (while simultaneously getting my daily Sports Center fix = the best kind of multitasking)
  • Coffee. And more coffee.
  • Vitamins. To catch everything I’m missing in my current blur of an existence.
  • A hearty, healthy, seasonal breakfast eaten outside in the soft morning sunshine: Greek yogurt with blueberries, bananas, and granola and a slice of my mom’s blueberry lemon bread. (Thanks, mom! And thanks to the recipe in July’s issue of Martha Stewart Living…another winner!)
  • Preparation for the day ahead with words of wisdom from the Psalms, 1 Thessalonians, Steven Pressfield, and Tony Dungy.

My days are so much more pleasant when they start slowly and meaningfully like this. There are few things I love more than a good morning.

Are there any other morning people out there? And if so what does your perfect morning entail? Please do tell!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 12:20 am

    A good morning entails sleep. LOTS OF SLEEP. Then snuggling and maybe a little reading before rolling out of bed for pancakes (of the gluten-free chocolate chip variety smothered in fresh strawberries). Then maybe some tennis on the tube. :-) Not quite as inspiring as yours now that I re-read it…

Leave a Reply

