Skip to content

weekend recap

June 27, 2011

This weekend, I learned two important things:

1 – I learned what it means to be surrounded and uplifted by God’s loving care. Last week was a whirlwind. I packed up my life at Roberts, went home for less than 48 hours, packed again, settled into another new temporary home, and worked a very full schedule between editing and smoothie making. So when the weekend came along bearing one wedding to shoot solo and one to assist on…I began to feel a slight twinge of weariness. And because I’m an overly ambitious freak of nature, I’d rather try to muscle through on my own than admit to feeling a slight twinge of weariness. But even with pulling out all of the stops – all of the internal pregame pep talks, caffeine in large doses, iTunes jam sessions – I couldn’t get myself out of the exhausted funk I was in.

So I phoned a friend. I passed the torch. I flew the white flag.

Enter: God’s loving care.

All day on Friday, I was inundated with an endless stream of verses that came to mind unprompted, promising that I’d be just fine – but not under my own power.

“It is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.”

“The one who calls you is faithful, and he will do it.”

“Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will see it through to completion.”

“The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

I’ve never experienced anything like it…probably because I’m too stubborn to relinquish control on a regular basis. Throughout the entire day I was consistently reminded of who is actually working through me to accomplish what needs to be done. Every time I hit a wall or had a doubt or achieved success a verse came to mind specifically for the situation. Consequently, I had one of the best days – personally and professionally – I’ve had in a long, long time. It served as a timely life lesson, especially as my new schedule of full time/part time/part time employment looms ever closer. I’m anticipating that working like a (crazed, rabid) dog will probably leave me depleted of all of my can-do vigor in about 7 days or less, and I’m honestly looking forward to seeing how God uses exhaustion to teach me more about relying on him since I’m clearly such a willing student at all other times. I think it will be a great experience in a lot of different respects.

2 – I learned that a day of rest changes everything. On Sunday I went to church and spent the afternoon with my parents who were up for a quick visit. I went on two of my favorite shopping trips: Pittsford Wegmans (blueberries! nectarines! quinoa salad!) and the Bath and Body Works Semi Annual Sale ($3 lotion! $2 lip gloss! 75% off classics!). And then…I came home. And made coffee. And caught up on Google Reader. And watched The O.C. And read and read and read. And felt like an entirely new person. Seriously…it’s crazy how essential regular, meaningful rest is. As a result, I woke up this morning and had the best workout I’ve had in awhile and feel like an invigorated productivity machine, ready to take on a new week!

Monday Motivation:

Amen.

Happy Monday, everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

