Skip to content

weekend wonder : puddle power

June 24, 2011

Yesterday, I sat in a large and unannounced pool of water, which proceed to soak me entirely from the waist down.

Some would call this an unfortunate incident. And while sitting in a puddle was not specifically what I asked for in my prayers that morning, it turned out to be the best thing that happened all day. Pre-puddle, I was a surly beast. I was stressed and tired and focused on everything that was wrong in the world. You’d think that becoming instantly and unexpectedly drenched wouldn’t help matters much. But as it turns out it was just what I needed to snap me back into reality. I couldn’t help but laugh. I had enough time to go home and change before work, and enough common sense to know that my pre and post puddle worries were small in comparison to the many other circumstances of life that extend beyond bad moods or soggy clothing.

So this weekend, I hope you sit in a puddle too. (Hopefully metaphorically though. No one likes wet pants.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

