Skip to content

weekend recap

June 20, 2011

This weekend I packed. And repacked. And prepacked.

And now let’s unpack that, shall we?

Packing: My time at Roberts has (quickly) come to a close and thus it was time to vacate my temporary home. And thus it was also time to shed a tear or two on the way out the door. 1 – Because apparently that’s what I do now. 2 – Because I hate endings. 3 – Because the whole experience was abundantly above and beyond what I ever could have expected. 4 – Because I left my cell phone charger behind. (Sorry to anyone who has tried to get in touch with me for the past 48 hours…although it’s probably not all that different from normal since I tend to be less than attentive to my cell phone.)

Repacking: Once I arrived at home and pulled off a Father’s Day surprise by walking through the front door unannounced (score!), I set about to repacking essentials for the next few weeks. I’ll be staying with friends until I move.

That’s right! I’m moving!

To Rochester. (Insert anticlimactic newsflash here.)

Prepacking: SO…this is more of an actual newsflash…I’ve recently gone from very much unemployed to very much employed. Where once there were no jobs now there are three! We’ve chatted about one job already and I couldn’t be more thrilled to be learning so much working as an assistant for weddings on the weekends. In addition, three nights a week you’ll be able to find me at breathe yoga, making juices and smoothies and basking in the glow of working in the health and fitness industry. People, I seriously LOVE this job. I don’t remember ever being so enthusiastic about my place of employment. It’s meaningful, it’s fun, and it suits me perfectly. I love it!

And last but not least…you can also find me working hard for the money full time at…Anthropologie! True story. The store that makes me burst into song and sonnet is now my full time employer.

So to review: I got a job that fulfills my love for photography. I got a job that fulfills my love for health. I got a job that fulfills my love for all things beautiful and creative.

I got everything I wanted and nothing I expected. Again! Because this happened last year too when I started to contemplate leaving admissions and wanted three things: to travel, to spend time at home with my family, and to work as a Resident Director (and…let’s be honest…I wanted to fully enjoy the 2010 football season too). I got to do all of those things, but in vastly different ways than I originally anticipated. I had to let go of my preconceived notions of how it would all go down and allow God the space to do what he does best: take care of business.

It was something I had to do again this year. When I wrote this post I still had no idea what my next job would look like, but I knew it would not be in Rochester. So I started applying for jobs all over the eastern seaboard. In my mind I was already firmly planted in North Carolina or Virginia or Southeastern Pennsylvania. I was sitting on a front porch in a rocking chair drinking sweet tea. I was not wearing 8 layers of clothing in May. I was anywhere but Rochester.

You can imagine my dismay as I slowly began to see the pieces fall into place for my continued detainment in Western New York. Prayers of “Lord, show me where you want me to be,” turned into, “Please be kidding. You can’t be serious. You wouldn’t banish me to Siberia…again. Would you?”

Oh, would he ever!

Here’s the thing, friends: I can’t see the whole picture. Where I see a place that’s not new, a place that feels too familiar for anything life-changing to happen, God sees something else. Maybe it’s the close proximity of more near and dear friends than I deserve (whom I was never anxious to leave, just wishing we could all relocate to a place that embraces timely seasons). Maybe it’s an opportunity or encounter I’m not yet aware of. Or maybe it’s his way of teaching me how to stay instead of running to leave. I’m good at boldly going where no one has gone before, setting off into the sunset for new adventures. I’m not good at staying. Clearly, I’ll be learning that lesson soon enough.

Proverbs 19:21 has been a favorite verse over the past few years. It says that many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails. My plan was to get out of Dodge, but his purpose is to make me more like him.

In Rochester.

And surprisingly, I’m not just ok with that, I’m excited about that. After watching God bring so many amazing things to fruition over the past year, things that started as just a little seed of a dream and grew into full-fledged realities, how could I doubt him?

I can’t. So bring it on, Rochester! I’m here to stay!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany permalink
    June 20, 2011 11:38 pm

    Oh my goodness!!!!! Beka, I couldn’t be happier for you! Who knew the place where the whale spat you could be the perfect place for you?? Great post, as always! :)

    • June 22, 2011 11:38 am

      thanks so much, befty! i never would have guessed that i’d be riding the wave of whale spit right back into town…but turns out it’s a great tide! :) hope YOU are doing wonderfully where you’ve temporarily been spat, say hi to cass and russ for me!

  2. June 21, 2011 6:46 am

    I LOVE THIS POST.
    And you.
    Hope we can catch up soon this week friend! :)

Trackbacks

  1. june bucket : in review « beka.g.photography.
  2. beka stays faithful : reflecting on life post-roadtrip « beka stays

Leave a Reply

