Skip to content

bucket : open face

June 7, 2011

All of those weeks putting off venturing into the city to go to Open Face! If only I could get them back!

People, you think I’m being dramatic, but just wait until you see the bounty of goods I brought home for lunch on Saturday…

Ok, first of all, that black-topped hot beverage in the top left corner is not just coffee. It’s Sticky Bun coffee. STICKY BUN COFFEE. It was literally the best cup of flavored coffee I’ve ever had. (Best cup of coffee ever has to go to Stumptown. It has a iron clad grip on 1st place!) It was so good that I wrote to Open Face to ask who the supplier is because I desperately need a stash. Of coffee, not drugs, which is what that last sentence sounds like it’s referring to. Moving on.

That, my friends, is a blackberry cream-filled cookie sandwich. And it, my friends, is heavenly. I had to choose between the blackberry, raspberry, mint, and marshmallow cream-filled delights. At first I went for marshmallow AND blackberry…but then I decided to just go for the blackberry in the cream-filled genre and opt for marshmallow in a cookie that must have been designed with people like me in mind.

On Saturday I was introduced to the world of cookie splits. It’s a magical world where chronically indecisive people such as myself get the only thing they’ve ever wanted: to not have to decide. It was wonderful! I went for the marshmallow cookie split, which, when heated in the microwave, was unbelievably good.

You’d think that the cookies were the stars of the show. And, admittedly, dessert is always my favorite part of any meal. But this sandwich gave the cookies a run for their money…it might even have been the best item of the bunch…

This isn’t just any tomato, mozzarella, and basil sandwich, which just happens to be my favorite sandwich in the world. This is, “fresh mozzarella, sliced tomato, fresh basil and a pomegranate balsamic glaze with mixed greens on a baguette with an olive oil drizzle and cracked pepper.” People…pomegranate balsamic glaze! Cracked pepper! It makes all the difference!

Needless to say, I’ll be visiting Open Face with much more frequency now that I finally made the inaugural trip. I can’t wait to try their other sandwiches – like the chick pea! And the maple turkey! And the soft brie! And the entire line up of cookies, cookie splits, coffees, and iced teas!

Or maybe I should just move in down the street…or directly inside.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. michelle permalink
    June 7, 2011 6:28 pm

    That sandwich looks like pure heaven and I don’t even like tomatoes all that much.

  2. June 7, 2011 10:32 pm

    I want to go there….NOW! :)

  3. June 8, 2011 1:29 pm

    true story, it’s amazing! michelle – i think the putnam market in saratoga makes a similarly wonderful sandwich. and a offers a similarly wonderful abundance of baked goods (the lemon ginger cookie is to die for)! kelse – we’ll have to go sometime, it’s not too far from your apt!

Trackbacks

  1. june bucket : in review « beka.g.photography.

Leave a Reply

