Skip to content

just another thursday

May 26, 2011

Thanks to being Freshly Pressed, my readership has increased by approximately 1,000,000%. Which leaves me to wonder:

…what do I blog about the day after being Freshly Pressed?

Last time, I went this route. Which was just fine and dandy. But this time around, I’m reading Quiet Strength by Tony Dungy. And amidst the masses of valuable advice he presents in the book he repeatedly encourages the reader to keep doing what he or she does well consistently. For example: If a team has just advanced to the playoffs, why change strategies? Clearly what they were doing in the first place was working. Continuing to do the ordinary things well day in and day out is a better path to success than switching to a glamorous new plan of attack.

So, with that theory in mind, I’m going to fill you in – old friends, new friends, and those in between – on the scintilating details I would normally regale you with on a typical Thursday around here. And off we go:

1 – I decided to bring my bike back to Rochester. This seemed like a good decision until it caught some air and flew off the back of my bike rack on the highway. Luckily, only one side dismounted and I was able to get to the side of the road fairly quickly. But apparently my bike is a free spirit and feels the need to resist being held back in life…since it broke free from restriction attempt #2. At that point I decided to cut my losses and not risk any more lives. So I pulled into a rest stop and gave all of the surrounding travelers an entertaining show as I pushed, prodded, begged, and pleaded my bike into the backseat of my car.

2 – I’m having separation anxiety from 16 Handles.

3 – Are there any other Biggest Loser fans in the house? Was anyone else overjoyed when Olivia won? Does anyone else wish they could be sisters with Olivia and Hannah too because they’re hilarious and so wonderful? Can someone please answer this question so that I don’t feel like the Biggest Reality TV Loser?

4 – I didn’t watch too much of this season of American Idol, but I was a big fan back in the Carrie Underwood days. This clip of her singing How Great Thou Art will give you chills, guaranteed.

5 – I can’t wait to show you more pictures from this engagement session. Can’t. Wait.

6 – Recent Inspirations: my last 5 pins on Pinterest:

photo credit : desserts for breakfast
pin credit : food for thought
photo credit : NIB
pin credit : LightWading
photo credit : Cloud Dust Photography
pin credit : Rachel Ludwig
photo credit : jennifer johner
pin credit : angel oak
photo credit : unknown
pin credit : Jan Koslowski

7 – My mom and I made two dozen of these less than 48 hours ago. They’ve since disappeared.

8 – Last and least, I think I’m addicted to The OC. As in, I don’t want to tell you how many episodes of the first season I watched yesterday except that it was less than 5. And more than 3. Don’t judge.

Parting thoughts:

“All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.” – Charles M. Schulz

Amen.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    May 26, 2011 1:16 pm

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the picture. and I Can’t. Wait. to see the rest of the pictures either!! :)

  2. Bethany permalink
    May 26, 2011 5:36 pm

    The picture of the little girl and the princess dresses is probably one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen. :)

  3. May 28, 2011 11:42 pm

    Oh yes, I’ll have to follow your blog. I love the inspiration pins, especially the girl and her royal laundry – too cute!

Leave a Reply

