Skip to content

weekend recap

May 23, 2011

Today’s weekend recap is featured by cell phone pictures. And food. So it’s pretty much the same as always.

Remember last year’s trip to San Diego? I do. OH, I DO…and often. This is because San Diego is essentially Paradise Found. Sunshine, ocean breeze, friendly people, and most importantly, amazing food. Since the northeast can’t supply 3 out of the 4, the least they could do is deliver on the culinary front. I mean, throw us a bone here! Can’t we get a false sense of summer security from a brightly lit, overpriced frozen yogurt establishment ala Pinkberrry? Is there a reason why this is impossible?

OH WAIT….

IT’S COMPLETELY POSSIBLE!

Behold the greatest entrepreneurial advancement in the history of the Capital District: 16 Handles.

I can’t believe I’ve contained my excitement about this for over 24 hours. Actually, I’m surprised it’s been contained for more than 24 minutes. People…!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This place is AMAZING. Dare I say, better than Pinkberry? Oh yes, I dare! With 16 flavors and 40 toppings all available for your self-serving customizable delight for the low, low price of 52 cents per oz…16 Handles has forever won my fro-yo lovin’ heart. My mom and I stumbled upon it while on an excursion to Borders on Saturday. I just wanted to peek in and see what it was all about, being a new store and all. Imagine my over-the-top enthusiasm when I found out it’s not just a new store…it’s the answer to all of my west-coast-comes-east-coast ice cream dreams!!!

Clearly, we could not leave without sampling the goods. I got Peach White Tea frozen yogurt and topped it with tons of fresh fruit and yogurt chips. My mom opted for the Coconut frozen yogurt and also decked it out with fresh fruit galore. One bite and the verdict was out: a person’s life can be changed by 8oz of frozen food.

And then we went home. And got my dad. And went back for Round Two.

This time, we went later at night and had to wait in a line out the door, which means that the rest of the Greater Albany Area is also ready to fall in love with quality California style desserts. My second selection was a Coconut and Orange combo with fresh fruit. My dad tried the Strawberry Banana and Berry Medley. My mom sampled the entire line up of flavors and toppings.

I have a feeling I’ll be coming home much more frequently this summer. Or franchising a new location in Rochester. One or the other.

If you live anywhere near Clifton Park…PLEASE go visit 16 Handles as soon as possible! I need to live vicariously through you!!!

In other news, my mom and I also ventured a few stores down to Five Guys for lunch.

Always a treat.

And in the one non-food related recap…I CAN’T WAIT to dive into this as soon as humanly possible:

The fifth and final season…be still my heart!

And with that, I’m off to lunch with my dad! When I was homeschooled in middle school we went to the Pizza Hut buffet every Friday for lunch and it’s continued to be a happy and frequent tradition, especially when I’m home visiting from Rochester. Fathers everywhere: take note. It’s the little things that matter most! I always look forward to these lunches, more for the time with my dad than the pizza. Unless of course they are serving the apple dessert pizza…then it’s pretty much a toss up.

And after that, if you’re looking for me, I’ll be at 16 Handles.

Happy Monday, everyone!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 6:51 pm

    Love the Five Guys! And I’ve been meaning to check out Friday Night Lights…

    • May 25, 2011 8:47 pm

      Hi Emily! Please allow me to wholeheartedly and enthusiastically recommend Friday Night Lights…you won’t regret it! Well…when a week goes by and you haven’t seen the light of day because you’ve been entrenched in your living room watching all five seasons consecutively you might regret it a little…but you’ll absolutely LOVE the show! Let me know what you think if you take the dive! :)

Trackbacks

  1. just another thursday « beka.g.photography.

Leave a Reply

