Skip to content

on my plate

May 5, 2011

It’s the last week of classes here at Roberts, which means students are starting to leave campus for the summer! Consequently, life as an RD has been a bit busier than normal this week, and all the more as we near graduation on Saturday. Since I might be MIA for the rest of the week as the number of responsibilities on my plate increase I figured I’d leave you with a glimpse of what has actually been on my plate this week. Let me tell you, it’s been good…

1. Greek Yogurt with Fresh Strawberries, Honey, and Toaster Oven Granola

Toaster Oven Granola = A teaspoon of old fashioned oats, a teaspoon of walnuts, a teaspoon of pumpkin seeds all tossed with a sprinkle of cinnamon and a dash of salt and toasted to a golden brown (or pitch black, as per the forgotten batch yesterday morning…) in the oven. I’m thinking I’ll start making this in bigger batches on the weekend and storing it in a glass mason jar to have on hand for the rest of the week.

2. Avocado Lime Chopped Salad

This week’s chopped salad features:

quinoa

yellow bell peppers

tomatoes

black beans

corn

edamame

scallions

lime juice/olive oil/balsamic dressing

And I think I like this one even more than last week’s! I might be biased though due to my unabashed love of lime.

3. The best cake ever…

It’s an old-fashioned oatmeal cake with a broiled brown sugar pecan coconut topping. OH, YES! This is literally my new favorite cake (excluding my mom’s chocolate cake of course, which has a death grip on first place now and forevermore). It’s unbelievably moist and the broiled topping makes for a sticky, gooey, crunchy layer of love. Even though it’s technically a dessert cake I think it makes a great coffee/breakfast cake. Which really shouldn’t surprise anyone. Please make this cake immediately if not sooner!

Not pictured: Sweet Potato Chili, Amy’s California Veggie Burgers, and an extra large bag of Pretzel M&M’s, just for kicks and giggles.

And there you have it, friends. The menu of the week!

I hope the sun is shining just as brightly and beautifully today wherever you are as it is here. Lord knows we’ve earned it after an exceptionally gloomy spring thus far! And just in case I’m up to my ears in keys and housing forms for the next few days – have a GREAT weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

