Skip to content

food : greek yogurt

April 29, 2011

Breakfast is without a doubt my favorite meal of the day. This is largely due to the fact that breakfast is merely dessert served at sunrise. Chocolate chip pancakes! French toast! Belgian waffles! Strawberry crepes! (Do I need to move to Europe?)

I even love breakfasts that are not quite as decadent. The Breakfast Bowl Series, for example, is full of hall of famers. A hearty bowl of oatmeal is always a staple around here. And I’ve never met a bowl of cereal I didn’t like (as in real cereal, sans food coloring, dehydrated marshmallows, or glorified sugar puffs). But one of my favorite bowls, especially post-workout, is a rich and satisfying helping of Greek yogurt:

I’ve already sung the praises of Greek yogurt…but let’s chime in with another round: 0% fat, tons of protein, and pure creamy goodness just waiting for creative add-ins. Fresh berries, bananas, granola, nuts, seeds, honey, jam…there are so many ways to customize a bowl of Greek yogurt!

Pictured above is one single serving cup of plain Greek Yogurt topped with:

  • 1/2 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1 Tbsp toasted walnuts
  • 1 Tbsp toasted pumpkin seeds
  • 1-2 tsp honey

At around 250 calories, it’s also an ideal Back on Track meal! Win-win-win.

This post wraps up our brief healthy eating mini-series…and let me tell you, even though I love all things sweet, switching back to my normal patterns of whole, nutritious foods (and participating in exercise more taxing than walking back and forth from the Easter basket) really has made all the difference. I feel so much better now than I did at the beginning of the week!

Conclusion: Sugar is a great fling but a bad friend. Sad but true.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

