Skip to content

food : chopped salad

April 27, 2011

Confession: I have an incurable sweet tooth. If man could live on dessert alone I would stock my grocery cart with breakfast brownies and dinner doughnuts every week. I’d probably swing by the produce section for some strawberries and brussels sprouts or grab a box of pasta on my way to the register. But let’s be honest…for the most part I’d be floating down Willy Wonka’s chocolate river and loving every minute.

So even though it pains me to admit it, it’s true that subsiding on a steady regiment of sugar does not leave one feeling bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. Far from it. In fact, since the recent overload of birthday cake and Easter candy I’ve been feeling quite the opposite. Droopy-eyed and flat-tailed, you might say.

Enter this week’s mini-series: Back on Track Staples. Healthy powerhouses to pack in nutrition and crowd out confection. Item #1: Chopped Salad.

It even looks bright-eyed! That must be a plus.

This salad has everything AND the kitchen sink. It’s completely customizable, but here’s what’s pictured above:

Salad:

  • 1/2 cup cooked wheatberries
  • 1/2 cup edamame
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas
  • 1/2 of one red bell pepper
  • 1/2 of one cucumber
  • 1/4 of an apple
  • 10-12 cherry tomatoes
  • 6 baby carrots
  • 4-6 basil leaves

Dressing:

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice

I mixed all of the salad ingredients, whisked the dressing, and then added it in. When I first started chopping I had planned to use full cups/vegetables instead of halves, but I soon realized that it would make enough to feed a small army. The halved version made about 4.5 cups, plenty to last for a few days. I divided it out into four containers for easy meals:

It’s a perfect side for lunch and dinner, and since I still have half of the ingredients I’ll be ready for round two as soon as these rations diminish.

Sugar-coma free existence, here I come!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 10:43 am

    That looks amazing, and SO colorful. I love it!
    Unfortunately, in my house I would be the only one indulging in your beautiful salad. How well does it keep in the fridge/freezer?

    • April 27, 2011 2:39 pm

      hi arlene! mine keeps in the fridge nicely for about 3 days, but i’d bet it’s shelf life would be even longer if the dressing were separate and added on later. good luck!

      • April 28, 2011 9:17 am

        3 days is plenty of time if I make half batches like that. Thanks a bunch!

  2. April 27, 2011 10:44 am

    That looks so colorful and tasty. I love fresh basil. Great recipe.

    • April 27, 2011 2:37 pm

      thank you! i’m a big fan of fresh basil too. now that its in season, i’m trying to put it in everything, haha! :)

Trackbacks

  1. food : granola bars « beka.g.photography.
  2. on my plate « beka.g.photography.
  3. good things : january groceries « beka stays

Leave a Reply

