Skip to content

weekend recap (and birthday lessons)

April 19, 2011

…driving/shopping/old-navy-card-opening/driving/testimony-listening/driving/phone-talking/baby-photographing/driving/wedding/eating/dancing/driving/25-turning/worshiping/driving/grocery-shopping/driving/softball-watching/driving/present-opening/cupcake-eating/crepe-devouring/friend-bonding/driving/brownie-eating/friend-bonding/more friend-bonding/collapsing…

That was my weekend in one sentence. You may not have noticed, but there was a lot of driving.

Because there was A LOT of activity! Including turning 25. A span of time also associated with a fourth of a century. I am a quarter of a century old. I suddenly feel the need to take more vitamins.

I would tell you all about the loads of wonderful events that took place over the weekend, but that would take the next 25 years of my life. So today we’ll just recount the first 25. Or at least the most recent parts of the first 25.

Because I’m incapable of not reflecting on life events both large and small, I found myself in reflection mode this weekend as I neared the quarter century mark. A shock to one and all, I’m sure. As I sorted through the reflection pool I realized that nothing in my life right now is what I thought it would be at 25. Literally: Nothing.

If someone had told me on my 22nd birthday, a month before my college graduation, that on my 25th birthday I would be back at Roberts working a temporary resident director, that I would still not have a crystal clear path to a career, that I would not be “settled” in any sense of the word…I would have burst into tears. I would have launched into a respectable panic. I would have cried a heartfelt, “Say it ain’t so!” and meant it with every fiber of my being.

I never, ever would have chosen my current circumstances (or the various paths that led me to them, for that matter).

And oh, for the love of all that is WONDERFUL, I would have missed out on so very much.

There has never been a time in my life when I’ve felt more blessed than I do right now. I am abundantly, overwhelmingly, my-cup-runneth-overly blessed. By family, friends, coworkers, clients, students, strangers. By blogs, magazines, novels, biographies, workshops, interviews, photographs. By treadmills, bowls of oatmeal, quiet time, Gilmore Girls, Wegmans, baked goods, country music. By more than I could ever ask for or imagine. By a faithful Father who chooses for me what I would never choose for myself.

 8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
   neither are your ways my ways,”
            declares the LORD.
9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
   so are my ways higher than your ways
   and my thoughts than your thoughts.
10 As the rain and the snow
   come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
   without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
   so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
   It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
   and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

[Isaiah 55:8 – 11]

It may surprise you to find out that there have been a few moments as of late when I’ve felt uneasy about the uncertainty of my future plans. Or maybe this post or this post or this post clued you in just a smidge. There are times when I feel like I must have missed a turn somewhere along the way. I’m excellent at missing road signs, so that must be it. I must have missed the sign that said, “CLEAR AND CONCRETE FUTURE PLANS, NEXT EXIT.”

What I’ve needed to learn time and time (and time…and time) again is that there is no exit, no prior knowledge, no grand plan written out in to-do list format that I can check off as I go along. There is only daily trust that I am being led by the One who knew all of my days before one of them came to be. He will choose the best plans for me even if I wouldn’t have chosen them for myself.

That’s the best birthday lesson I’ve ever (re)learned.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nan permalink
    April 19, 2011 2:04 pm

    i love you, you are simply fantastic. from one wanderer to another: the Lord is absolutely at work, even when we wonder where He’s leading us. i am so humbled by how He brings everything together… IN HIS TIMING. !!!!

    xoxo thankful for you.
    n

    • April 19, 2011 11:09 pm

      hey lady, thanks for the love! right back atcha! :) YOU are such an encouragement & inspiration; thanks for the reminder that God is in the business of behind the scenes, always faithfully bringing the right things to fruition. always good to know :)

Leave a Reply

