Skip to content

weekend wonder : wild blueberry oatmeal

April 16, 2011

It’s rare that oatmeal does not make an appearance on my breakfast menu these days. I think I’m trying to make up for 20+ years of oatmeal hatred. Just the sight of it made me gag, let alone the thought of consuming warm mush.

Oh, the joys I’ve missed!

See, what I failed to realize before is that plain oatmeal, which is as flavorless and dull as it’s namesake, is merely a canvas for a whole litany of culinary creations. The possibilities are literally endless. We’ve already talked about carrot cake oatmeal and pot of gold oatmeal, but today I’d like to introduce you to my current favorite, wild blueberry oatmeal.

The not-so-secret ingredient is…

This stuff is absolutely heavenly and mildly addicting. My parents brought it home for me after a weekend trip to Vermont (thanks, Mom and Dad!). At first I was using it in standard jam applications: spread on toast or as the J in PB&J. But then one morning I decided to swirl a little blueberry goodness into my oatmeal.

Clearly, this was a good decision. The other cast members are fairly standard. Here’s the line-up:

+ Scottish Oats, purchased just to mix things up from my usual Irish Oats, are a new favorite. They’re chewier, which I appreciate because even though I am past the whole “oatmeal is 21st century gruel” stage, I’m still not a fan of mush. I like food with textures and Scottish Oats deliver!

+ I cook the oats in water but add a little soymilk in once I take them out of the microwave. It just makes them a bit richer and creamier.

+ Ground flax seeds add a great nutty flavor and lots of Omega 3’s. Win/win!

+ Just a small pinch of nutmeg goes a long way but makes a huge difference

+ I am a firm believer that everything is better with cinnamon. I mix some in and sprinkle it on top as a finisher too.

+ Half a banana gets sliced on top…hopefully yours is a bit more lively than mine, which had seen better days

+ Sliced almonds, straight from the bulk bins at Wegmans. Gotta love it.

And that’s it! Sometimes I’ll add a little vanilla in with the oats when I add the soymilk, which kicks things up to a whole new level of amazing. I’ll also add more milk on top just for some extra creaminess. Really, it’s all about whatever floats your boat.

And so I say unto you: Go forth and eat oatmeal. And have a great weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 17, 2011 3:30 pm

    Looks delicious! :-) I’ve been thinking about getting me some gluten free oatmeal… but haven’t found any for a resonable price yet.

Leave a Reply

