Skip to content

take-in

April 14, 2011

As we all know, I’m a Chipotle convert. I often find myself craving one of their weighs-as-much-as-one-of-my-limbs brown bags of Mexican takeout. However, neither my conscience nor my wallet will allow for multiple trips to Chipotle in a week.

So, I decided to take matters into my own hands.

That, my friends, is Chi-faux-tle. It’s cheap. It’s healthy. It’s SO good. I bet it can even leap tall buildings in a single bound!

Here’s the deal:

+ I substituted quinoa for Chipotle’s famed cilantro lime rice. I boiled 1/2 cup of quinoa with a tablespoon of cilantro, a tablespoon of lemon juice, half a clove of garlic, and some salt and pepper. Quinoa is packed with protein and is an all-around powerhouse, making it a much more nutritionally sound option than white rice (even though the cilantro lime rice is something to write home about). I topped the quinoa with:

+ 1/4 cup of well-rinsed canned black beans

+ 1/4 cup of whole kernel corn

+ about 2 tablespoons of salsa

+ one package of Wholly Guacamole

And BAM! A Chipotle-inspired creation that was just as satisfying as my beloved burrito bowl. But thanks to it being lighter and cheaper, it was even better!

Creative Solutions: it’s what’s for dinner.

Leave a Reply

