Skip to content

ben, jerry, and a bucket addition

April 8, 2011

I haven’t had good ice cream in a really long time.

A really, really long time.

But last night, Ben and Jerry rescued me from the dark, lonely world of “healthy” desserts.

It was well, it was well with my soul.

I’ve always been moderately healthy, but over the past year or so I’ve really stepped it up a notch. I mean, I’m drinking green smoothies, for crying out loud. And I LOVE eating well. There are few things that thrill me more than having a nutritionally-sound day from start to finish. However…

Sometimes dairy-free, egg-free, fat-free brownies just don’t cut it. Sometimes a person just needs to rejoice in a little ice cream lovin’. And last night, that person was me, thanks to a special delivery from a dear friend.

Oh yes.

Be still my heart.

People…I had forgotten how much pure JOY resides in a pint of Ben & Jerry’s! I love food like nobody’s business, but ice cream is really on a level all it’s own. I don’t know if it’s a chemical trigger from the fat and sugar content or if there’s just something special about ice cream in general or if I personally equate ice cream with happiness, but let me tell you…there was a revelation in my bowl last night. And that revelation proclaimed, “Eat more ice cream! It’s good for your (mental) health!”

And who am I to argue with a revelation?

SO…I’m adding an item to the April Bucket List! And honestly, if I had remembered it before my date with Ben and Jerry last night I probably would have added it anyways. But now there’s all the more reason to!

Honorary April Bucket List item: Go to Ben and Jerry’s on April 12th for FREE CONE DAY!!!

And while we’re at it… a Bruster’s trip is also in the works so that Graham Central Station can speak to my soul as well. It seems like the right thing to do.

Amen.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2011 12:07 pm

    This was SUCH a delight! I am oh so glad we could share in the glory of Ben & Jerry. We must do it again. And soon.

    P.s. I’ve never had Bruster’s Ice Cream!

    • April 9, 2011 10:11 pm

      AMEN. So, so good…thank you for reuniting me with Ben and Jerry! :)

      And we are absolutely planning a Bruster’s trip. It’s amazing!!!

Trackbacks

  1. weekend recap « beka.g.photography.
  2. april bucket : in review « beka.g.photography.

Leave a Reply

