Skip to content

weekend wonder : wise words

March 26, 2011

I fully intended on posting a how-to on making your own almond butter today (and how my attempt to do so almost killed me and burned down half the campus). But some things are more important than condiments, and today’s topic feels like one of them.

As you may have already surmised from this post earlier in the week I’ve been thinking a lot about careers and purpose and living a meaningful life lately. My mind is awash with questions and convictions, doubts and truths. It’s like 18 skeins of yarn have been unraveled, thrown in the dishwasher, and put through a power wash. My brain is like that dishwasher right now, and I’m just trying to untangle the knots.

In the process I’ve been challenged by several quotes and phrases that keep coming to mind. And since they’ve been so helpful in putting true, accurate words on this rather verbose time in life I thought I’d share them today in case anyone else is in need of a few sentences to attach to a certain situation in their life…

[“I’ve wondered, though, if one of the reasons we fail to acknowledge the brilliance of life is because we don’t want the responsibility inherent in the acknowledgment. We don’t want to be characters in a story because characters have to move and breathe and face conflict with courage. And if life isn’t remarkable, then we don’t have to do any of that; we can be unwilling victims instead of grateful participants.”]

– Donald Miller, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

[“It made me wonder if the reasons our lives seem so muddled is because we keep walking into scenes in which we, along with the people around us, have no clear idea what we want.”]

– Donald Miller, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

[“And once you live a good story, you get a taste for a kind of meaning in life, and you can’t go back to being normal; you can’t go back to meaningless scenes stitched together by the forgettable thread of wasted time.”]

– Donald Miller, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

[“Most of us have two lives. The life we live, and the unlived life within us. Between the two stands Resistance.

Have you ever brought home a treadmill and let it gather dust in the attic? Ever resolved on a diet, a course of yoga, a meditation practice? Have you ever felt a call to embark upon a spiritual practice, dedicate yourself to a humanitarian calling, commit your life to the service of others? Have you ever wanted to be a mother, a doctor, an advocate for the weak and helpless; to run for office, crusade for the planet, campaign for world peace or to preserve the environment? Late at night have you experienced a vision of the person you might become, the work you could accomplish, the realized being you were meant to be? Are you a writer who doesn’t write, a painter who doesn’t paint, an entrepreneur who never starts a venture? Then you know what Resistance is.”]

– Steven Pressfield, The War of Art

[“Look in your own heart. Unless I’m crazy, right now a still small voice is piping up, telling you as it has ten thousand times, the calling that is yours and yours alone. You know it. No one has to tell you.”]

– Steven Pressfield, The War of Art

[“Joy comes from seeing the complete fulfillment of the specific purpose for which I was created and born again, not from successfully doing something of my own choosing. The joy our Lord experienced came from doing what the Father sent Him to do.

We each have to find a niche in life, and spiritually we find it when we receive a ministry from the Lord. To do this we must have close fellowship with Jesus and must know Him as more than our personal Savior.

“Do you love Me?” Then, “Feed My sheep” (John 21:17)

The call is to be faithful to the ministry you received when you were in true fellowship with Him.”]

– Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest

[“When we feel stressed or confused about the wandering God introduces into our lives, it’s so easy to try to fix it ourselves. In big ways and small ways, we take steps away from the plan God has for us in our desire to solve it or finish it or complete it.

But it’s not my job to finish the work the Lord started. I’ll be present to it, I’ll be part of it, I will steward the opportunity to the best of the abilities he has given me. But I don’t want try to game the outcome or manipulate the situation when I face the fears that come with wandering.

He’s God. I’m Jon. When I remember that simple arrangement, life goes so much better.”]

– Jon Acuff, The Stuff Christians Like Blog

Quote by Joseph Chilton Pearce, Pin by Sherry

Amen. Have a great (thought-provoking) weekend, everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

