Skip to content

the circle of life

March 25, 2011

Last night, I saw The Lion King at the Auditorium Theater.

As most of the rest of the world already knows and has testified to, it was AMAZING. There was a running commentary going on in my head throughout the entire show (as per always). Of note:

1 – I was 8 years old when The Lion King came out. I’m pretty sure it was the first movie I saw in a theater, at least the first one I remember. I also think I watched it 100 times during the first week of it’s VHS release.

2 – Last night, I realized that I still know the entire movie by heart. As in verbatim. As in are you kidding? As in what else am I storing in my brain along with the full transcript of The Lion King?

3 – Two words: trading cards. Had about a billion. Does anyone else remember these?

4 – The vibrancy of the animation in the movie and the aforementioned cards began a long love of all things colorful. Last night during the scene where Simba and Nala are walking home with Zazu and Mufasa and the sun is setting and the stars come out I remembered how mesmerized I was by that same scene in the movie when I was a kid. It was so awesome to get to see it on stage as an adult and still be just as mesmerized. Colors get me every time.

5 – The costumes. OH, the costumes. I can’t talk about them rationally. So I’ll let Disney tell you all about it (here).

6 – Cool Rochester fact: local modern dance legend and Tony award winner Garth Fagan choreographed the show! You can read more about that here (great article, Leah!).

7 – I’d never heard this song before. I thought it was beautiful.

It reminded me of this passage from John 14:

15 “If you love me, obey my commandments. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, who will never leave you. 17 He is the Holy Spirit, who leads into all truth. The world cannot receive him, because it isn’t looking for him and doesn’t recognize him. But you know him, because he lives with you now and later will be in you. 18 No, I will not abandon you as orphans—I will come to you. 19 Soon the world will no longer see me, but you will see me. Since I live, you also will live. 20 When I am raised to life again, you will know that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.

Bible verses and full length Disney movies all hanging out in my head along with who knows what else. It’s like an attic, the central location for anything and everything.

All in all…The Lion King totally lives up to the hype. It’s absolutely stunning and if you ever have the opportunity to see it GO! without a second thought!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

