Skip to content

weekend recap

March 21, 2011

This weekend can be recapped in one tidy point:

Pittsford.

Oh, Pittsford. Hometown of my heart.

It’s true. I’m pretty sure I spent more time in Pittsford this weekend than I did in my (borrowed) apartment. And really, why wouldn’t I? What’s better than a two hour walk on the canal, settling in with a huge stack of books and magazines at a gigantic Barnes & Noble, getting takeout from Aladdin’s, AND kicking another item off the bucket list?!

Courtesy of my phone, here’s the visual of my dinner at Wegmans’ new Food Bar. As per everything that Wegmans does, this was great. Reruns of Food Network programming were playing in my head as I approached the register and made a last second decision to spring for the Catch of the Day option…I could hear Bobby Flay telling me to always go for the freshest fish and just couldn’t say no to the Iron Chef. Luckily, he was right. The tilapia was fantastic.

Also fantastic:

The first signs of spring! Amen and Hallelujah.

Sunday was all about the kitchen. Really…ALL about. I tried to back away but it just wasn’t happening. You’ll hear about my harrowing first go around with making my own almond butter later this week. And probably about the gingersnaps and the vegetable dumplings with creative “rice” too.

(Let the record show that during a short break from Sunday’s culinary escapades I called a friend and asked her if she wanted to go for a short walk because it looked so nice outside and it’s the first day of spring so getting outside is practically a requirement. She said “sure!” The weather said “ha!” And we proceeded to freeze in the bright and sunny barely-above-freezing breeze. Thank you, first day of spring in Rochester.)

: monday motivation :

You’re in luck! I’m occasionally a cheesy quote lover…and today feels like just the day for that. And BONUS, you get two quotes!

“A boat is safe in the harbor. But this is not the purpose of the boat.” – Paulo Coelho (author of The Alchemist)

“Are you on the eve of change? Embrace it. Accept it. Don’t resist it. Change is not only a part of life, change is a necessary part of God’s strategy. To use us to change the world, he alters our assignments.” – Max Lucado (pastor & author)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 11:50 am

    Girl I just love your blog! The food bar is amazing, I’ve been multiple times (and know you know why!), and I always get the crab cake, which is amazing if you love crab. The green beans rock, but the salad is amazing as well. Next time you feel like a trip there, I’m always up for that place!

    • March 21, 2011 7:33 pm

      thanks, morgan!!! and oh my word…we have to go together sometime! i wanted to try 8 other things on the menu! let’s schedule an outing sometime soon :)

  2. Buzz permalink
    March 21, 2011 6:09 pm

    Hey…is that Max Lucado quote from Outlive Your Life? I am almost done with it! :)

    • March 21, 2011 7:36 pm

      ok, don’t judge me…but it’s from guideposts! the inspirational christian magazine usually found in hospitals and rest stops and read by the post-retirement crowd…and me, apparently :) outlive your life was great though, so glad you’re almost through!

Leave a Reply

