Skip to content

weekend recap (and three bucket items!)

March 14, 2011

This weekend. It was incredible. It was edible. It was not an egg.

1. It all started with Ecclesiastes 9. I read it on Saturday morning and it leaped into reality all weekend long:

Seize life! Eat bread with gusto,
Drink wine with a robust heart.
Oh yes—God takes pleasure in your pleasure!
Dress festively every morning.
Don’t skimp on colors and scarves.
Relish life with the spouse you love
Each and every day of your precarious life.
Each day is God’s gift.

2. Get ready…this is the first of THREE bucket items to be kicked over the weekend. The first and foremost, Simply Crepes.

Amen. I shouldn’t tell you that after a 6 month hiatus the waitstaff still knows me. And greeted me with, “HEY! Long time no see!!!” But seriously, why wouldn’t a person repeatedly visit this restaurant and order the same thing every time?

The relaxing weekend breakfast at Simply Crepes was made even better with the addition of a friend to relax with!

Hi, Buzz! Thanks for coming out to breakfast. And thanks for letting me take 8,000 pictures of you whenever we get together and go out to fun places.

3. Since it was such a nice day (or a day above freezing with a momentary pause in precipitation) we decided to take a short stroll on the Canal after breakfast…which means that the attempt of a semi-snowy walk along the Canal can officially be crossed off of the list as a success!

Hi, Canal. I’ve missed you SO MUCH. I can’t wait to see you under warmer conditions sometime soon (hopefully before June).

4. After the Canal…I went to Pittsford Wegmans. OH, Pittsford Wegmans. If you live in Western New York and you’ve never been, get thee to Pittsford Wegmans immediately if not sooner. If you don’t live here, chances are you probably have things like sunlight and temperatures above 40 degrees for more than 1/4 of the year, so you can take solace in that and we’ll console ourselves with FRESHLY FRIED DONUTS TOSSED IN CINNAMON SUGAR!

Friends, I tell no lies. I was actually given a freshly fried donut that was shaken in cinnamon sugar before my eyes at Pittsford Wegmans. I was already euphoric because I had just picked up a loaf of raisin pecan sourdough.

Oh yeah. That whole “eat bread with gusto” part of Ecclesiastes? Totally took that literally this weekend.

So imagine my delight when I turn the corner of the bakery and am greeted by the heavenly scent of donuts right out of the fryer! And then to get a free sample…it was like all of my dreams were coming true.

5. As if all of this weren’t enough, these guys showed up at my front door on Saturday.

Hey, Mom!

Hey, Dad!

Not only did they bring their lovely company, they also brought ALL of the things that my heart desires! Literally! Shoo fly pie and chocolate and the million magazines I subscribe to and cookbooks and green carnations and THE PACKERS SUPER BOWL DVD!!!

My birthday has officially come early. I’m set for life.

6. Considering that I left no carbohydrate behind this weekend I figured a trip to the gym was probably in order. So after the parentals left on Sunday I went for a run…and completed a third bucket list item in the process. Six miles seems long enough to count as a long run, especially because I kicked it up a notch and put the treadmill on “random.” This, as it turns out, does not have the same effect as putting your playlist on random. This was a series of intervals I never would have inflicted upon myself were it up to me to manually program the run…

Which is why random is my new favorite treadmill setting!!! It was AWESOME. I looked like The Swamp Thing by the time I was done, which is always the sign of a great workout. SO satisfying.

Even with the six miles I still feel like I swallowed a few dozen bricks…or brick houses…so it’s safe to assume that I’ll be keeping my distance from carbs for awhile.

Except for the shoo fly pie, of course. That’s a given.

Leave a Reply

