Skip to content

shampoo, burnt offerings, and sighs of relief

March 3, 2011

I have three non-imperative things to share with you today. You can back away from the edge of your seat.

1 – This morning, I got my hair cut. This probably ranks below the “non-imperative” classification, but people, it was my first hair cut in over 6 months (read: I was starting to look like Cousin Itt). The skillful snips of a professional hand had not touched my hair – which has lately been identified as that thing atop my head – since before I left for Roadtrip USA. My locks were in a tragic state. I wish you could have seen the looks of shock and awe that the hairdresser gave the mane as she battled with it this morning.

So – moral of the story, I promise there is one – I just went to Supercuts, expecting nothing more than a super cut, as advertised. When the hairdresser asked me if I wanted it washed I said heck yes because there are few joys in life quite like the joy of getting a good shampoo scrub. Can I get an amen?

But this wash was OUT OF THIS WORLD. People, I’m telling you. Stop whatever you are doing, including reading this post, and make your way to the closest Supercuts with haste. Apparently, as described on my receipt, it’s called the “Tea Tree Experience” and it’s worth every penny of the extra $3 charge. My scalp sang. My spirit rose up and called Paul Mitchell blessed. My hair shed layers of dead/deader/deadest ends.  And I thanked Shari at Supercuts 18,000 times.

(Thanks again, Shari. You made my day!)

2. This is what happens when you start looking at pictures on facebook and forget that you have squash seeds in the oven.

(I realized that some of you may be saying, “But why would you have squash seeds in the oven?” Once, I may have agreed with you. But if you coat these babies with a little maple syrup, a few spices, some sea salt, and toast them at 375 for about 10 minutes less than I charred these…they’ll turn you into an addict. Guaranteed.)

I hope everyone on North Campus enjoyed watching me swing the front door of the townhouse open and shut as rapidly as possible to avoid setting off the fire alarm. Which, since we’re on a college campus, would have preempted the arrival of fire trucks and a mass evacuation of residents. Luckily, the combination of chucking the burnt offering outside while trading off rounds of door-swinging and alarm-fanning held off impending mayhem.

3. I’m happy to report that the Packers have resigned A.J. Hawk…less than 24 hours after cutting him. Thanks for bringing him back, Pack. And thanks for the 24 hours of undue turmoil. Since it had such a pleasant result, I’ll happily take it.

And here’s a BONUS item, just because it’s a hoot.

Today when I walked into the dining commons to meet with one of my RA’s, I was asked the inevitable question by a food service employee swiping my ID card:

“Are you a freshman?”

It was only a matter of time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Johnson permalink
    March 3, 2011 3:36 pm

    1. A.J. Hawk is a Buckeye!
    2. haha freshman

  2. Megan permalink
    March 4, 2011 8:30 am

    I always ask for Shari when I go to SuperCuts. She’s great!

Trackbacks

  1. almond butter adventures « beka.g.photography.

Leave a Reply

