Skip to content

packer backer: then and now

January 25, 2011

I remember the last time the Packers won the NFC Championship game. I was 11 years old, and potentially the most awkward adolescent in the state of New York. (And while we’re on this topic, I feel like God should have installed a fast forward button for the middle school years. It would really be to everyone’s benefit.) I had a hard time fitting in with girls my age because the concept of drama was foreign to me and I didn’t spend my waking hours singing Mmm Bop.

However, a few things in life did make sense to me. One of them was football – and specifically, the Green Bay Packers. I was as devoted then as I am now.

Which is why when the Packers defeated the Bears on Sunday and the Championship gear commercials started to air…I had a flashback. Because in 1998…I ordered Championship gear.

Friends, you are in for a treat.

My preteen sense of style did not extend much further than over-sized t-shirts and colored jeans. More often than not, that cotton was of the green and gold variety. So on that Championship Sunday so many years ago, I decided it would be a good idea to add a new component to my wardrobe. Why not spice things up a little, try something new? Which is why I did not end up ordering an NFC Championship t-shirt that day. Instead, I went with…

A hat.

Wow.

And lest you think this was an isolated occurrence, here’s another incriminating photo, just because I love you guys and want to start your day off right. You can thank me later. This one was taken the day after getting braces, showcasing the aforementioned bounty of Green Bay issued cotton:

Oh yeah. It was a special time in my life.

Luckily, the teen years eventually end for one and all (can I get an AMEN?). And luckily now that the Packers have won another NFC Championship game, I am 24. And own a Mac.

Much better.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany permalink
    January 25, 2011 5:11 pm

    Help! I can’t see your “then” pics, and I’d really love to!! ;)

    • January 25, 2011 7:03 pm

      oh my word!!! thank you so much for the heads up, i could see them on my computer so i had no idea they were missing elsewhere. perhaps my computer was protecting me by keeping them invisible :) p.s. – i miss you!!!!!!!!!! can’t wait to see you in feb!!!

Trackbacks

  1. programming note « beka.g.photography.

Leave a Reply

