Skip to content

things that matter

January 14, 2011

In the flurry of tests, anticipation, and multiple daily trips to and from the hospital that have characterized the past week, it’s been easy to get lost in the shuffle of circumstances. A brain can get crowded with some things and forget about other things, like what day it is or what is going on in the world at large. So let’s clear some of the fog. Here are a few things that matter today:

1. Snow

True to form, I am loving the snow right now. Nothing makes my winter heart happier than ground covered in a blanket of white and skies lit up with vibrant pastels. Love it.

(Yes, our Christmas decorations are still up. No, my mom and I can’t find the switch to turn them off.)

2. Laughter

I really don’t know what I would do without this woman. That’s my mom. If she can do anything, she can provide levity. We’ve been laughing through most of this week. Most recently, it was when she was trying to tell people that the surgeon took veins from my dad’s mammary glands, but instead told them that the surgeon took my dad’s mammogram.

Laughter is the best medicine.

3. Perseverance

Have you heard Matt Chandler’s story? It’s heartbreaking, sobering, and deeply thought-provoking. Relevant recently featured his story in an article which you can read here.

4. Prayer

Last night on Twitter Jon Acuff asked for prayers for Joanne and included a link to her blog. I read a few of her posts from last week and looked through her other pages before I arrived at the new posts by her husband informing readers that Joanne had suffered a major stroke. The more you read about this family, the more you’ll be inclined to want to absolute best for them. The response from all over the country has been very strong, but I’m sure they would appreciate your prayers as well!

5. Pictures

These photographers leave me speechless. So many well-captured moments! So creative! So inspiring! So much for being speechless! Seriously though, if you need to waste an hour or four looking through gorgeous pictures, check out these amazing websites:

:: w.scott chester photography

:: chris and adrienne scott photographers

:: give and take pictures

AND…just as an added bonus…a project I love and hope to participate in someday: help portrait.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 1:37 pm

    Thanks so much for linking to us along with these other amazing photographers, it’s great to be among such company! BTW, is it just me or is W. Scott Chester’s brand not the best brand ever???

    • January 19, 2011 10:10 am

      Oh my word…it took about .5 seconds to fall in love with W. Scott Chester’s site. Great branding. And I have to tell you that I LOVED the Arrington Vineyard session featured on The Sweetest Occasion! So many great shots, and such beautiful light! Amazing work :)

Leave a Reply

