Skip to content

the 25 days of christmas : [day 24] : blue christmas eve

December 24, 2010

I have a confession.

Sometimes, I get a little blue on Christmas Eve. It’s kind of like a premature postpartum depression for the holiday season. There’s no time of year I love more than right now. There’s snow on the ground, lights and decoration everywhere, a never ending list of great games, movies, and TV specials, amazing food aplenty, time spent with family and friends, and the burst-out-in-glad-tidings-of-great-joy anticipation of Christmas. And to know that it’s almost over makes me wish that it wasn’t.

But this year…no more! In a continued effort to live in the present and appreciate each day individually, I’m planning on focusing on everything I love about this day: baking a chocolate cake and cranberry walnut bread with my mom, going to Christmas Eve service, last-minute wrapping some all of my gifts, watching a Christmas movie or five, eagerly awaiting the meaning of the morning.

It’s going to be a good day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

