Skip to content

the 25 days of christmas : [day 12] : friends

December 12, 2010

If you would have told me a few years ago that someday in the future I would spend a weekend speed-visiting as many people as possible in a 24 hour period, I would have said you were plum crazy. Off your rocker. In need of medication. I would have instantly thought of a thousand things that I would rather do – multiple root canals, food poisoning, and babysitting 27 toddlers on a sugar high among them. And if you had included the details – that this was not only something I agreed to but something I initiated…I may have passed out completely.

And yet, that is what transpired over the weekend. I made a quick trip out to Rochester to spend time with some of my favorite people on the planet. I sat down at Leaf and Bean at 10am and had rotating coffee dates until 2pm. This came after spending the night with a BIRTHDAY GIRL in Clifton Springs and before another birthday party-crash in Irondequoit (which I ended up missing because apparently my phone really is out to ruin my life and took me to Greece instead…I’m so sorry, Smash!!!). AND, this was after a week full of breakfast/lunch/dinner/dessert/coffee dates.

People…what is happening to me???

Here’s the deal: I’ve never had extreme monk-like tendencies, but I’ve never been a social butterfly either. A few years ago my ideal weekend consisted of solitude from 5pm on Friday night until 8am on Monday morning. I enjoyed my antisocial weekends. And now…I’m trying to pack the maximum amount of social activity into two days? Who? Me? How?

I don’t know. But I do know the following:

1. Tell God that something in your life will not/can not change. Then watch him go to town.

2. Nouns are more important than verbs.

3. I’m not sure I’ve ever felt more blessed than I did over the weekend. I could have cried at any given moment; my heart literally felt like it was going to burst out of my body. I can’t put into words how much it meant to me to be surrounded by so many treasured friends who were nice enough to give me a piece of their busy pre-Christmas weekends. Between both of my homes – Burnt Hills and Rochester – I have the best friends in the world.

I hope all of you get to spend lots of time with the people you love this weekend. There are few things that are more Christmasy than that!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

