Skip to content

day 70: america the beautiful

November 14, 2010

It seems fitting that a trip around the country came to it’s photographic end in the nation’s capital. Somehow, I made it through 24 years of east coast citizenship without ever visiting Washington DC. But those unpatriotic days are over! Jennie and Tom were excellent tour guides, making sure we hit all of the major landmarks. And not becoming exasperated by constant stops for pictures.

Random fact: after documenting 98% of the tree population in Washington DC, I realized that I’ve so desperately missed fall on the east coast. And even more than the beauty of autumn, I’ve missed trees! Real ones – tall, branchy, leaf-filled trees. I was so glad to see them in all of their glory yesterday.

On top of the fantastic hosts and the historic monuments and the wonderful, wonderful trees…it was an unbelievably gorgeous day. Sunny with a side of breeze. Just warm enough not to be cold. BEAUTIFUL.

And people…today…as you read this…I am driving HOME!!! Ten weeks, 27 states, and almost 10,000 miles later. What a ride.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaclyn permalink
    November 14, 2010 9:15 am

    Congratulations!!! You did it!!! :-)

  2. Buzz permalink
    November 14, 2010 2:27 pm

    My friend…

    I am so proud of you! You went out and created a better story. You took risks…you gave up so many things that have been a part of who you are…and you will forever have the last 70 days. I can not wait to sit down and talk about what God has taught you through this experience. I miss you so much…have so many things I want to tell you…and can not wait for you to be closer! Please let’s make a date super soon. I love you so much!!!!!!

  3. November 15, 2010 6:20 am

    Thank you both SO MUCH!!! Buzz – I’ll be sure to let you know asap when I’m coming out to Rochester, which should be soon since I can’t wait to visit! We have so much to catch up on!!! Love you and miss you lady!

Leave a Reply

