Skip to content

day 65: like watching pavement-colored paint dry

November 9, 2010

Friends, I have to be honest.

Nothing interesting happened yesterday.

Unless you count a prolonged Disney movie power ballad jam session interesting. Some passing drivers seemed to, but it’s more of a “you had to be there” type of thing. Yesterday was all about the driving, so I really don’t have much to report. Except for warning you that if you order a Fireside Apple Cider in Mississippi you will receive Microwaved Apple Juice.

So today, I’m counting on all of you. Someone, anyone, everyone: please make up for my entertainment deficit by sharing a fun story from your day in the comments section. I can’t wait to hear all of your stories, especially because I’m so boring right now.

Ready?

Set?

GO!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaclyn permalink
    November 9, 2010 4:59 pm

    I have nothing except for….. YOU’RE ALMOST HOME!!!! Can’t wait to see you!! Love you!

  2. November 9, 2010 7:53 pm

    Sorry, nothing exciting here either. Actually stayed home sick. Watched a lot of bad television. I did have a very lovely cup of hot chocolate.

  3. November 14, 2010 12:42 am

    Okay, I’m a few days late, but I have a little story. On the night you posted this, I was driving up the California coast on my way back to Oregon. It was the last day of my trip and I got pulled over by a highway patrolman for the SIXTH time. The first five were all in Wyoming and North & South Dakota, and near as I can figure, they all saw my long hair and Oregon plates and found weird excuses to pull me over and ask me ten times if I was carrying any marijuana (which I wasn’t). I managed to get away each time with only warnings and no tickets, but this time I know I was actually speeding so I thought my luck was out. It turns out the officer just wanted to let me know I had a headlight that had burned out. Not only that, but he tried to help me fix it by tapping on the light, asking me to flicker the high beams and looking around to see if it was actually the bulb or some loose wires. Then he hung out around my car and chatted with me about my trip, telling quite a few stories himself. If he wasn’t on duty, I think he may have asked me to get a beer with him. He didn’t even check my registration or write me a warning… just wanted to make sure the car was okay then sent me on my way with best wishes. Nicest cop who ever pulled me over.

    • November 15, 2010 6:18 am

      OH MY WORD. What an amazing cop!!! I think the fact that I look like I’m 18 and I was toting a mini van around the country led to less encounters with the Law. However, I was driving through a police blockade in Georgia and thought they would bust me for not having a headlight or a mirror, but they just looked at my license, said “Ma’am, you’re a long way from home!” and let me continue down the road. Oh, police. You never know what you’re going to get. I’m glad your last COPS appearance was a good one :)

Leave a Reply

