Skip to content

day 58: welcome to dallas

November 2, 2010

Let’s be honest: I was in some need of some serious motivation to get back on the road again yesterday. The feeling I had was the same one I had at mile 10 during the half-marathon – the “there’s no way I can make it for another 3 miles” feeling, but instead it was the “there’s no way I can make it for another 3,000 miles” feeling. Between the crap, car accidents, and crazies of the past week, I was not especially anxious to leave my locked hotel room.

So I channeled Vince Lombardi. Whenever I’m in need of a get-your-rear-in-gear pep talk I look no further than Coach. In no uncertain terms, he told me the following:

“Winning is not a sometime thing, it is an all the time thing. You don’t do things right once in awhile…you do them right all the time.”

“The quality of a person’s life is in direct proportion to their commitment to excellence, regardless of their chosen field of endeavor.”

“Once you learn to quit, it becomes a habit.”

So I hit the road. (Not without the recollection of road-memories-past, since I wince every time I look at the van now. It’s not unlike the seeing other half of Harvey Dent’s face at the end of The Dark Knight. One side looks great; the other is scraped bare to the bone.) I went to Whole Foods, fueled myself on a great lunch, and sought out even more inspiration from a slightly different but equally reliable source: the Bible.

All of this motivation and inspiration came in handy when I hit the main highways of Dallas. I’ve driven in my fair share of populated cities: Boston, Chicago, San Diego, and the queen of them all, New York City, among others. I’m the first to admit that I’m not a seasoned city driver, but so far I’ve held my own reasonably well.

However, none of the places I’ve been can hold a candle to Dallas, a city in a state where I’ve already been involved in one accident and feared I would be involved in several others by day’s end. The lack of a right side mirror hindered me. The fact that I was taking turn by turn directions from my errant cell phone caused my life to flash before my eyes several times. I don’t know where all of Dallas is heading, but they are getting there in record time.

When I arrived at the farm I was immediately whisked away to a dinner adventure with Marie, the sole owner, manager, and worker on the farm. On the way we picked up Susan, a local beekeeper. We went to visit Susan’s hives on the top of a hotel in Dallas and to a restaurant that supports both farms. The chef had us stay for dinner and sent out all of the house specials – goat cheese deviled eggs, portabello fries, southern fried okra salad (the words fried and salad could only be combined in Texas), lobster BLT’s, and a double decker dessert – half peach cobbler, half chocolate bomb. It was amazing.

Later that night when we returned I was introduced to my sleeping quarters, located in a rustic private house next door to the farmhouse. It was at this time that I was also introduced to Texas water bugs, which are essentially cockroaches on steroids.

And now I’m channeling memories of Thailand. And the Orkin Man.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 1:38 am

    Wow Becka, I just read what you’ve gone through the past few days. Kudos for sticking with it. For what it’s worth, I think things happen for a reason. Getting stranded by my car troubles gave me some much needed perspective and allowed me to make some good friends, so you never know. Whatever the case, I really hope Dallas treats you well. Just don’t let those atomic cockroaches carry you off at night.

    By the way, could you tell me the name of that website where you found volunteer work that wasn’t WWOOFing? The non-farm work exchange?

    Keep on truckin’,
    M

    • November 3, 2010 3:23 pm

      thanks, martin! i’m seeing the value of sticking with it as well, if only to finish on a good note. the other site is workaway.info, and you may also want to look into housecarers.com if you are interested in housesitting. i had great experiences with both sites – good luck and safe travels!!!

Leave a Reply

