Skip to content

day 28: beautiful things

October 3, 2010

Yesterday I drove through Idaho, Utah, and part of Wyoming. I saw some beautiful things.

But they weren’t the most beautiful things I’ve seen this weekend.

On Friday while I was driving I listened to the Gungor song “Beautiful Things” on repeat for about an hour. Mostly because it’s a phenomenal song (thanks, Nancy!!!) and partially because I often listen to songs on repeat when I find one I like. (Same with movies and tv episodes. And there’s your dose of Beka trivia for the day.) As soon as I heard it I fell in love with the chorus, “You make beautiful things; You make beautiful things out of the dust. You make beautiful things; You make beautiful things out of us.”

When I arrived at my parking spot for the night and started taking pictures of the sunset I found a shot I especially wanted to get – it was of these little flowers coming out of the dust. I thought it would be the perfect picture given the song I had been listening to all the live long day. So I knelt down and started snapping, trying to get the objects I wanted in the background and the right amount of backlighting. It turned out to be harder than I expected and before I knew it I was basically rolling around in the dirt, much to the amusement of everyone around me. When I felt satisfied with the shots I had taken I got up and found myself absolutely covered in dust. Not just a light dusting…I was head-to-toe doused in dust.

“You make beautiful things; You make beautiful things out of the dust. You make beautiful things; You make beautiful things out of us.”

I wanted to capture the flowers to have a tangible symbol of the song. God wanted me to learn a much larger lesson by beating me at my own game and using a different symbol.

I love that.

Forget the former things;
do not dwell on the past.

See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the desert
and streams in the wasteland.

[Isaiah 43:18-19]

3 Comments leave one →
  1. nancy permalink
    October 5, 2010 12:43 am

    i totes love that you love this song. and i knew that you would. and i also love that you were rolling around in & covered with dust. the end.

Trackbacks

  1. weekend recap « beka.g.photography.

Leave a Reply

