Skip to content

200th post giveaway!!!

August 24, 2010

As the trip draws nearer and nearer, I find myself consumed by the larger details…like how many books I can bring without weighing the van down and costing myself extra gas money. You know, the important things.

Here’s the list so far (not including the givens – my Bible, book of poetry, travel guides, etc)…

Bird by Bird – Anne Lamott

Eating Animals – Jonathan Safran Foer

Fast Track Photographer – Dane Sanders

A Homemade Life – Molly Wizenberg

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years – Donald Miller (re-re-rereading…but there’s no negotiating, this has to come along)

Stuff Christians Like – Jon Acuff

The War of Art – Steven Pressfield

When Wanderers Cease to Roam – Vivian Swift

Notice the shocking trend: these are all non-fiction publications. What is happening to me??? I believe this means I have officially crossed the line from avid reader to total nerd. I think I’m set on the non-fiction front and probably set for reading material in general…but I’m itching to add a few fiction titles to the list.

So, in honor of the 200th post, it’s time for another comment section giveaway!!!

Leave your suggestions for good roadtrip reads – fiction, non-fiction, or otherwise! – in the comment section. The winner will receive…

A $10 Barnes & Noble gift card!!! Perfect for purchasing that last book on your summer reading list.

Entries will be accepted for the next 24 hours, so closing time is 12 noon EST tomorrow, the 25th. The winner will be selected at random and will be announced in tomorrow’s post.

I can’t wait to see your suggestions! Good luck, everyone!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Jordan P permalink
    August 24, 2010 1:38 pm

    I’d suggest Invisible Monsters by Chuck palahniuk…. great road trip read, IMO!

  2. Dana permalink
    August 24, 2010 1:40 pm

    The Jessica Darling books by Megan McCafferty are really fun reads for long car rides.

  3. August 24, 2010 2:18 pm

    Wow, we have so many roadtrip books in common that I decided I just had to follow your blog! :)

    I would add in…

    The Inner Voice of Love by Henri Nouwen
    All the Harry Potter books
    And Anne Jackson’s new book, Permission to Speak Freely

    Amy S.
    artsyrockerchick at aim dot com

  4. Becky permalink
    August 24, 2010 3:14 pm

    As cliche as this sounds right now (with the movie out)….Eat.Pray.Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

  5. emily l permalink
    August 24, 2010 3:58 pm

    I love the Shopaholic series. Very funny, quick reads. Christy by Catherine Marshall is incredible.

    misusedinnocence@aol.com

  6. Meg permalink
    August 24, 2010 4:50 pm

    if you haven’t read Walking on Water by Madeleine L’Engle, your life is incomplete.

    Seriously.

  7. August 24, 2010 9:09 pm

    Oh Beka, A blog about one of my most favorite things.. Books! I have lots of suggestions that I think you may like.

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
    The Help
    The Elegance of the Hedgehog
    Firefly Lane
    The Wednesday Sisters
    Portofino
    Saving Grandma
    The Glass Castle

  8. August 24, 2010 9:47 pm

    I’m so excited for you Beka!!!
    Here are some of m favorites :)

    It’s Not About Me by Max Lucado
    The Search for Significance by Robert S. McGee
    A God to Call Father by Michael Phillips

    love ya!

  9. Morgan permalink
    August 24, 2010 11:40 pm

    All 7 Harry potter books, no contest. Then you can be a geek and see the first part of the final movie with BA and I on November 19. Yes, I have the date memorized :) you would love the books though!

  10. M!ke McGinnis permalink
    August 25, 2010 12:36 am

    Rules of the Red Rubber Ball – Kevin Carroll
    Outliers-Malcolm Gladwell
    Freakonomics – two smart dudes
    The Magician’s Nephew – C.S. Lewis

    Stuff Christians Like – yeah you may have posted that one already but I’m spreading the word around Roberts and have a waiting list of like 8 people who want to read that book already. All you other peeps should check it out too!

  11. Erika permalink
    August 25, 2010 12:59 pm

    Lucky Baby by Meredith Efken
    Thin Places, a memoir by Mary E. DeMuth (just started this one – so far it is really good)

Trackbacks

  1. day 24: mecca « my green orchard

Leave a Reply

