Skip to content

monday three

August 16, 2010

Another Monday short on time means another 3 point list. This time, it’s the retail edition.

On the way home from Jennie’s wedding (which, by the way, was WONDERFUL), I decided to make a “quick stop” at the Eastview Mall in Victor, NY. Now really, when does any female ever make a quick stop anywhere…especially a mall? I feel bad making that generalization especially because I’m less of a stereotypical girl than most, but really, women: let’s be honest. It’s true.

So clearly my expectations were too high when I figured I would just stop in and out of the mall in 20 minutes, tops. I had to lower the bar multiple times…to the tune of walking out to my car an hour and a half after I left it. And this is why:

1. Anthropologie

No store inspires me to take out my camera (and my wallet) quite like Anthropologie. It makes my head swim with ideas and colors and pictures, oh my. If I were a woman of unlimited resources, I would buy out the store. Actually, I would go one step further and just put a store in my house. Aside from featuring stylish ensembles whose price tags make my heart sink and wallet whine, Anthropologie also offers a surprisingly affordable and unsurprisingly delightful array of home and kitchen wares. I love looking through their selection of bowls, doorknobs, hand towels, and books. And I love purchasing their selection of bowls, doorknobs, hand towels, and books.

2. Williams Sonoma

This place is like culinary heaven. Case in point: I walked in the door and someone handed me a brown sugar cake topped with raspberry plum preserves. Luckily the rest of the samples were guarded by a counter encased by a plastic wall, otherwise I would have chop blocked the baker and made a run for it.

3. Sephora

I missed out on the genetic coding that most girls have. The DNA hardwired to like pink, weddings, romance novels, and talking on the phone, among other things. But one thing I don’t lack on the female front is an appreciation for a good makeup store, and Sephora is that…times a million. It’s a veritable mecca of all things cosmetological. I think it’s the sheer number of colors in one location that makes me swoon. And we all know how much I love colors. (For those of you who don’t know, it bears repeating: I love colors. My best friend Erin (pictured below!) practically had to physically remove me from this wall at the Crayola Factory.)

And now, my friends, it’s off to errand running.

Unfortunately, none of these stores are on the list.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jonathan Pollard permalink
    August 17, 2010 1:32 pm

    Hey Becca.
    It was cool getting to meet you last Friday at Jenny and Tom’s wedding. Just in case you’ve forgotten in the four days since, I’m one of the (stunningly handsome and charming ;-)) groomsmen you met who’s a Christian and a liberal – not to mention the only dude Black dude at the place. Sorry to put all this in a comment section, but I didn’t have your email address. Anyway, cool blog. Shoot me a message sometime. My email address is jcp18200@yahoo.com.

    Peace,
    Jonathan

Trackbacks

  1. weekend recap « beka.g.photography.
  2. absence makes the heart grow fonder (and sappier) « beka.g.photography.

Leave a Reply

