Skip to content

caprese pasta salad

August 7, 2010

Tomatoes…

…Mozzarella

Basil…

…Balsamic Vinaigrette

Summertime Superstars.

You wouldn’t think they could get any better, but…

adding carbohydrates makes everything better.

This recipe was already referenced earlier in the week, but I couldn’t help featuring it again. It’s so easy! It’s so good! It’s so beautiful!

Here’s the deal:

1. Boil 1 cup of whatever pasta you want (unless you were outvoted as I was, resulting in a victory for elbow and sad defeat for whole wheat rotini).

2. While the pasta is cooking, cut up tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, and some fresh basil leaves in amounts that make you happy. For me, that meant a lot of all three.

3. Drain pasta, return to pot, turn heat to low. Add tomatoes, mozzarella, basil, and your favorite balsamic vinaigrette (I’m partial to Maple Grove’s fat free rendition). The serving temperature is up to your discretion, but I’m a room temperature kind of gal so that’s how I served it. My mom thought it would be better hot. My dad thought it would be better cold. We’re kind of like an odd version of Goldilocks.

And that, my friends, is that. We also had grilled corn on the cob, which made this the ultimate summer meal. Almost – watermelon would have put it over the top. And maybe peach cobbler for dessert. With vanilla ice cream. I could go on but I’ll stop.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

