Skip to content

goodbye rochester : leaf & bean

July 29, 2010

What’s this? One tiny store in the corner of Chili-Paul Plaza gets its own goodbye?

Oh, heck yes it does.

When I think about what I’m going to miss most about Rochester, Leaf & Bean is pretty near the top of the list (and you know there’s an actual list forthcoming…it’s inevitable).

This place is amazing. First things first, their coffee can’t be beat. I would rather have a cup of Leaf & Bean coffee – any flavor – than a cup from Starbucks. Higher praise cannot be found.

And the variety of flavors! Oh my land…where to begin. Let’s just say that standing in front of Leaf & Bean’s shelves of coffee and choosing a flavor for the week is my happy place. Since I’m such an obnoxious efficient decision maker there’s always a solid amount of QT spent there. And that’s fine by me.

Beyond brewing the best coffee ever to grace Western NY, they also make a mean latte, espresso, frappe, chai, and/or anything else you could ever possibly want. I was recently introduced to the evils of chocolate chai with a shot of espresso, which was as life-changing as a hot beverage can be. It will make you rue the day you ever ordered anything that was not a chocolate chai with a shot of espresso.

Also worthy of praise: the food. Usually coffee shop food is decent, but nothing to write home about. You write home about the latte but not the lunch. Not so with Leaf & Bean. You could write novels home about their menu. Their sandwiches are beyond amazing…and if I could talk myself out of ordering the Coldwater (mozzarella, red peppers, basil pesto on grilled panini bread) every time I go I would try something else and let you know how great that is too.

Even when I step away from the counters with my selected bag of coffee, caffeinated beverage, and panini in hand, there’s still a whole store left to love! Leaf & Bean rocks the ideal coffeehouse setting – soft lighting, comfy chairs, great music. Sitting in Leaf & Bean – reading, photo-editing, chatting with friends, drinking tureens of coffee, etc – is one of my favorite things to do in life.

If you live in Western NY, please frequent Leaf & Bean as frequently as possible…and then tell me all about it so I can live vicariously through you. If you don’t live in Western NY, please join me in visiting their website and wishing that computer screens functioned like closets in Narnia.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

