Skip to content

goodbye rochester : downtown

July 29, 2010

First, I’m sure you’ll all be glad to know that my apartment is less of a disaster area than it was yesterday. The EPA was headed in this direction but turned around when they heard I conquered the kitchen. Which, as long as we’re talking about it, packing a kitchen is like playing real life tetris with breakables. It’s much more fun on the computer than when glassware is involved.

Second, I’m going to miss this.

Downtown Rochester, I’m so sorry we didn’t get to know each other better. I think we would have been the best of friends. But some other places got to me first and I got distracted. Blame Pittsford.

That’s Ashley. But I call her Smash. She’s wonderful.

We decided to meet for lunch downtown because she works nearby and I like lunch. Especially when it comes in the form of hummus with a side of catching up with a great friend. Oh my word, we went to Jines and I will be kicking myself from here to kingdom come for never going before. It was so good! And there were so many amazing menu options that I will not have the opportunity to experience! I would list them but a) I don’t want to bore you or b) scare you or c) retype Jines entire menu.

So, I’ll miss Jines for what could have been. I feel like I’m talking about my long lost love. And as long as I’m being melodramatic, the same is true for downtown. I wish I had been more inclined to explore…but the pull of the gigantic Barnes and Noble and Wegmans in Pittsford Plaza was too strong. I will miss Saturday mornings at the public market though, and Java’s. Oh Java’s.

And Smash…I’ll miss you too!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg permalink
    July 29, 2010 1:40 pm

    Beka.

    oh, Beka.

    Park Ave and you would have been soulmates.
    (is it sad that I could tell you were at Jines from the background of the photo before you said you were there? yes? ok.)

    :)

Trackbacks

  1. the 25 days of christmas : [day 12] : friends « my green orchard

Leave a Reply

