Skip to content

flatbread pizza

June 11, 2010

Pizza may just be one of the mankind’s greatest inventions. If you disagree, try eating a printing press. Or a wheel. Or a steam engine. Then revisit this conversation, and you will probably agree that pizza is a wonderfully tasty creation.

Now, the completely customizable world of flatbread pizza…that just brings the goodness to a whole new level. And making it…a breeze! The easiest 3 steps of your life!

Step 1: Preheat oven to 425.

Step 2: Put toppings on flatbread.

I used Wegmans’ Whole Wheat Naan as my flatbread:

I brushed it with olive oil, sea salt, cracked pepper, and a little garlic powder as my base, and topped it with shredded mozzarella, ricotta, spinach, and fresh basil. But you can top it with anything! Really! The beauty of flatbread pizza is it’s versatility; for the Super Bowl I made four different kinds, all with products from the fresh foods section of Wegmans! (Someday I’ll wax poetic about the wonder that is Wegmans for those of you who do not have the honor of living near the best grocery store in the world. In short, Wegmans is a grocery Mecca of inexplicable proportions. If you have never been to one, please change your summer vacation plans to include a trip to Wegmans.)

3. Bake for 8 – 12 minutes, or until the toppings are melty and golden.

And there you have it: another easy summer meal! It’s a beautiful thing.

(For the record, I made PW’s Cinnamon Baked French Toast for our office breakfast this morning…and it was also a beautiful thing. I didn’t take any pictures because I can’t multitask before coffee 8am, but trust me on this one. It’s so good.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    June 13, 2010 7:45 pm

    I’ve been reading up on your blog for some time now, just haven’t commented just yet. By the way, this is Bethany’s sister-in-law :)

    We LOVE making homemade pizza from Wegman’s Naan flatbread! It’s become a new favorite in our house! You gave me a few other ideas for toppings. So far we’ve done sausage with peppers and onions.

    • June 14, 2010 10:32 am

      Hi Megan! I’m so glad you’ve been stopping by :) AND so glad that there’s another Naan pizza lover in the house!!! So, so good. I just picked up sun-dried tomatoes and feta cheese from the Mediterranean bar this weekend to try on a new pizza – I’ll let you know how it goes! :)

Leave a Reply

