Skip to content

Cool Factor

April 29, 2010

Want to hear something cool?

My friend Tiffany has a laundry list of things going for her: she’s a singer/songwriter/speaker/author/fashionista – and that’s the short list. She’s also a pretty great person who has a passion for helping young women find their true identity in Christ. Her latest endeavor is a website, one section of which is dedicated to featuring guest bloggers who write short devotionals about what it means to be a woman of God.

I was humbled/excited/concerned when Tiffany asked me to write a post for the site. I was so touched that she thought of me and am always thrilled to do anything that involves writing, but when I realized that I would be writing a devotional for other women about living as a woman of God I became a bit nervous about the subject matter…and the audience. This is because I have never really fit the Christian Woman mold too well.

Exhibit A: I’ve never owned a pink Bible.

Exhibit B: I can’t quote Karen Kingsbury.

Exhibit C: I haven’t been pre-planning my wedding since childhood.

It’s not that I’ve never had anything in common with any other Christian woman ever, it’s just that by and large, my interests and personality differ from the norm. I wasn’t sure what I could possibly write about that would be relevant and/or appreciated.

So instead of faking my way through a devotional about keeping a quiet heart, I decided to write about the very topic that was vexing me: being the odd sheep in the Christian Woman flock.  And Tiffany graciously posted my contribution! It was a great experience and proved once again the value of doing something I would have otherwise talked myself out of. If you’d like to read my devotional, “On Snow White, Stereotypes, and Soul-Searching,” you can find it  here. Thanks for such a fun opportunity, Tiffany!

Want to hear something uncool?

Last night, I made a chocolate peanut butter pie for a little get-together I’m going to on Friday. The pie lasted safe and sound in my fridge for about 30 minutes before I went in for the kill. I know it was shameless. But it’s unreasonable to ask an emotional admissions counselor to live in close proximity with a chocolate peanut butter pie and leave it unharmed two days before May 1st. It’s just not going to happen.

So I adjusted my expectations. Before, I expected to bring a whole pie to our bridesmaids night on Friday. Now, I am expecting to bring the majority of the pie. Fellow bridesmaids…I’m sorry.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

