Skip to content

A tale of three dishes

April 14, 2010

People, this weekend I was a machine. A lean, mean, cooking machine. I made almost everything I ate this weekend, and by made, I mean I did more than press the start button on my microwave (as is often occasionally the case). Here are my three favorite dishes from the weekend (read: the three I did not consume before I could take pictures of them).

Dish 1: Greek Yogurt Parfait

Who wakes up on Saturday morning to a Greek Yogurt Parfait and isn’t automatically having a great Greek weekend? It’s a beautiful thing. If you can put things in layers…you can make this parfait…and in mere minutes! It’s a breakfast miracle. For this one I just layered plain Greek yogurt, bananas, blueberries, granola, and honey – but you can really feel free to throw anything in there. Within reason.

Dish 2: Hummingbird Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

God bless Southern women. I had never heard of Hummingbird Cake until Food Network Magazine brought it to my doorstep, but apparently Hummingbird Cake is a southern tradition, and a delicious one at that. I turned the cake into cupcakes and stuck them with fun spring decorations that I made by decoupaging scrapbooking paper to toothpicks…I’m breaking into hives over how Martha Stewart I sound right now so I’m moving on…

Dish 3: Salmon with Roasted Vegetables

Answer me this: why doesn’t Yankee Candle make a Roasted Vegetable candle? “Probably because no one would buy it,” you are thinking. And that, my friends, is not true, because I would buy it. I love the smell of roasted vegetables almost as much as I love actually eating roasted vegetables. It’s one of my favorite things in life.

The how-to for this dish is possibly easier than the how-to for the parfait: roast brussels sprouts, sweet potatoes, and red onions tossed in olive oil, salt, and pepper in the oven on 375 for one hour; put salmon on George Forman Grill (seriously…I stooped that low…but it was good!). Impossibly easy, amazingly tasty.

And there you have it: three dishes (that survived long enough to be photographed), one weekend, one happy woman.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

